News Store Discography Artists Tour FAQ Store Locator


  • Catalog #: DG-82
  • Release Date: April 22, 2014

On Better Than Expected, Stampfel further pushes the envelope, asking the question “How many banjos can play simultaneously without turning into musical slop?” He answers it with a psychedelic sixteen track album that is as beautiful as it is strange. The record also features an updated version of The Fugs’ “CIA Man” as “NSA Man.” Simply put, at 75 years old, Peter has managed to bring us one of the punkest most genuinely non-commercial records we’ve ever had the chance to release. Fuckin’ A man.

1. Old C1
2. NSA Man
3. G3
4. Sukiyaki
5. G1
6. Roadkill
7. Vocal Exercise
8. Page 64
9. G2
10. Page 77
11. Page 88
12. Castor & Pollux
13. Page 106
14. New C1
15. Page 91

Recorded by Mark Bingham

Artwork by Tony Millionaire