News Store Discography Artists Tour FAQ Store Locator


  • Catalog #: DG-132
  • Release Date: December 02, 2016

Formed in Washington, D.C. in the summer of 2015, Bad Moves is David Combs (guitar), Emma Cleveland (bass), Katie Park (guitar), and Daoud Tyler-Ameen (drums). On November 18, Don Giovanni Records will release the band’s self-titled debut EP. It includes four songs recorded at Lurch, a studio run by Danny Saperstein (Flasher) and Owen Wuerker (Big Hush).

Combs, Park, and Tyler-Ameen each have a proven background writing melodic, punk-informed songs as members of Spoonboy, Hemlines, and Art Sorority For Girls respectively. Bad Moves was conceived as a way to stretch out a bit: to take a melody and break it down, to see if a hook might thrive in a different style or context. As a result, the music takes subtle inspiration from power-pop, new wave, and garage without being too on the nose. The songs are a little downcast, but not without a sense of humor — and while the subject matter is rooted in the members’ experience in D.C., the sentiments are often universal. Bad Moves summons a bit of cautious optimism in the face of wack day jobs, skyrocketing rent, and decaying expectations.

1. Shitty Tomorrow
2. Drain Me
3. Get Slow
4. The Verge

Emma Cleveland - Bass, Vocals
David Combs - Guitar, Vocals
Katie Park - Guitar, Vocals
Daoud Tyler-Ameen - Drums, Vocals

Recorded and mixed at Lurch in the summer of 2016
Mastered by TJ Lipple
Artwork by Michael Cantor