News Store Discography Artists Tour FAQ Store Locator

  • Catalog #: DG-288
  • Release Date: July 7, 2023

The Child Ballads are 305 songs/broadsides of the British Isles. Created between three and five hundred years ago, they have become synonymous with modern folk music since the 1950s. The final six ballads (#'s 299-305) were never put to music until now.

Assembled here are Richard Thompson (Fairport Convention), Sivert Høyem (mult-platinum Norwegian music giant), Wesley Stace (John Wesley Harding), Ed Pettersen (Award-winning singer-songwriter/producer), Gina Fergione (composer/choir director) and Marissa Nadler (Indie-rock royalty) weaving beguiling original melodies to these classic tales of magic, love lost, myth, and high drama.

The London Experimental Ensemble backs them.

1. Child Ballad 300 (Blanchflour and Jellyflorice)
2. Child Ballad 303 (The Holy Nunnery)
3. Child Ballad 301 (The Queen of Scotland)
4. Child Ballad 304 (Young Ronald)
5. Child Ballad 302 (Young Bearwell)
6. Child Ballad 305 (The Outlaw Murray)

Produced by Ed Pettersen
Recorded at The Pool, London UK November 13, 2022
Engineered by Jaime McEvoy
Assisted by James Pinfield-Wells

Mixed by Shane Shanahan, Westpoint Studios London UK November 15, 2022
Mastered by Bob Olhsson

The London Experimental Ensemble are:

Antonio Acunzo – piano, electronics
John Eyles – alto saxophone
Tony Hardie–Bick – electronics and piano
Caroline Kraabel-saxophones
Edward Lucas – trombone
Keisuke Matsui – electric guitar and cello
Nathan Moore – guitarism
Jordan Muscatello – double bass
Ed Pettersen – lap steel guitar and Dobro
Mirei Yazawa – trumpet

Featuring: Richard Thompson, Wesley Stace, Sivert Høyem, Marissa Nadler and Gine Fergione on vocals